Attorneys in Transition: Avoid anchors and evil puppies

Nick Augustine is a freelance legal writer, broadcaster, publicity and business development strategist, and he teaches search engine optimization and social media. Nick writes legal industry columns for Chicago Lawyer magazine regarding business and career development. Nick is an alumnus of Marquette University and The John Marshall Law School, where he is an active alumni board member. @NickAugustinePR, @APIFCharity and Augustine Legal PR, Inc.

The legal industry is stressful enough without the added trauma of abusive people and their troubles. This week I came to terms with an anchor and learned these people are often wolves in sheep’s clothing.

Luckily, I have a therapist friend whose practice focuses on lawyers and professionals with anxiety and chaos in their lives. For me, this experience unearthed issues dating back to childhood.

I over compensated with the pursuit of perfection and success and learned to self-sabotage to avoid failure by way of forces I could not control. Life sure does not come with instructions and you do not always know when you are getting it wrong.

My advice might sound contrary, but for those of us in  “repair mode,” when you see abusive people and anchors, run away as fast as you can before they have a chance to bring you down.

When my friend at the ARDC helped me decide whether to cooperate in helping my anchor get help, she let me say no. If the anchor is bound to get their card pulled, they will do it on their own.

As professionals working to help others, we need to live and work in healthy and stable environments. When we try to save the scared puppy, and it keeps biting us, we need to wake up and get away from that evil puppy and accept we might not be able to help it.

I have everything to gain from getting as far away from evil puppies and anchors, as do you. Go forth in peace and sanity my Chicago lawyer friends.

Leave a Reply

