Summer in the city

Marty Dolan, principal at Dolan Law and his associate Karen Munoz represent victims of wrongful death and personal injury. His column “Law and Wellness,” appears in the Chicago Lawyer and her column appears regularly in the Law Bulletin.

There is quite a lot going on in the news world this week.  From the debt ceiling drama, to the ever evolving Murdoch scandal to the Roger Clemens mistrial.

There is certainly much to discuss and lots of food for thought.  As I prepared to write this next post I definitely had plenty of material to talk about. But then I decided to save it for another day as I headed out to the beach.  It’s summertime in Chicago!

We are now past the middle of July and I realized it was the first time I had gone to the beach in a year.  As I sat on the beach and read the entire Sunday paper, I vowed to make the most of the remainder of the summer and I strongly urge you to do the same.

We spend a good part of the year in Chicago being cold and deprived of the sun.  Leaving the office and going to court is a production. If you were here for the blizzard this past winter, you know what I mean.  There is so much Chicago has to offer in the summer, especially if you are fortunate enough to live in neighborhoods where festivals, farmers markets and outdoor eating are plentiful. It brings a smile to my face when I walk downtown and I see people taking advantage of eating lunch outside or just sitting and reading a book.

We are lucky enough to be surrounded by world class museums, parks, and restaurants. If we work in the Loop, Millennium Park is a five minute walk away.  Grant Park also offers movies in the park. There is nothing like watching a classic movie under the stars, with our beautiful skyline in the background. I know sometimes I get wrapped up in work, and it’s hard to get away from your desk.  But this is the time to do it. I know I will be kicking myself come October for not leaving the office in time to sit outside and enjoy a drink with friends.  There will always be lots going on in the world, it is inevitable.

Next week maybe I will write about Clemens, this week I am going to go watch a baseball game and enjoy it, while I still can.

Leave a Reply

