Make a commitment

Tiffany Farber is a solo practitioner who has been practicing law since 2008. As someone who has been through transition in her career, she understands the challenges lawyers in this situation face.

It’s Jan. 17, do you know where your 2011 resolutions are?  I recently attended a seminar that kicked my resolutions, both personal and professional, into high gear.

The seminar I attended, “Yes to Success,” was taught by a long time friend of my family named Debra Poneman.  The conference itself was extremely inspirational and covered a range of techniques for making one’s goals a reality.  Debra knows a thing or two about making goals a reality; she is a bestselling author and an international speaker—but she wasn’t always.  When she began her seminar over 20 years ago, she had no idea if anyone would be interested in attending.  She took a leap of faith and because she was so committed to helping people, she became wildly successful.

One of the exercises that we worked on in the seminar was to write out our goals – all of them.  I thought this was a super hard yet extremely helpful activity.  Sure, we all have nebulous goals for ourselves, but it’s rare that we have the occasion to sit and write them out.  In the seminar we first wrote out our lifetime goals, then our five-year goals, then one-year, monthly and weekly goals.  This exercise is extremely helpful for job seekers.

Seeing my goals on paper made them more real.  It gave them life and added a level of commitment that I didn’t have when I was just thinking about them in the abstract.  One of my lifetime goals is to write a book.  My five-year goal is to be a published author; my one-year goal is to have 12 chapters done, my one-month goal is to have one chapter done and my one-week goal is to write for at least an hour every day.  It’s a new year, so the time couldn’t be better for you to write out your own goals.

It doesn’t take long, but it takes discipline to follow them.  I challenge you to do this exercise.  If your lifetime goal is to have a successful and meaningful career, you should start thinking about your weekly plans to get there.

Another concept we talked about was making commitments.  When you make a commitment to something, you feel energized to move forward.  I recently made a commitment to something in my own life and within a day of making the commitment, three opportunities opened up for me.  Because I was ready to move forward, things started happening.  Something I recommend is to sit down and write out your goals and then make a commitment to carry at least one of them out.  The combination of writing your goals and making a commitment to carry them out will energize you.

It’s a new year.  Think clearly about what you want to achieve this year, this month, this week and make a commitment to carry your goals out.  I know that good things will come your way.

One response to “Make a commitment

  1. I attended the conference as well — it was a wonderful experience! I’ve put several things into action since then– especially the morning and evening gratitude time. I’m also writing two books, and the goals helped me to realize a timeline for them and to do something every single day that moves me one step closer to the goals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

