Job Search Strategies: trying for balance

Aurora Donnelly is a solo practitioner always looking forward to the next exciting transition.

Just so you know that I take my own advice. I have been seriously training for a triathlon since March and this weekend actually participated in one. Having interests and challenges outside of work, or outside of your job search, really does add a vital component to your life. Struggling, competing and enjoying the camaraderie of sports is a great distraction from our daily dealing with professional issues.

Having been a sporadic athlete all my life, I didn’t have to make too many changes to my routine to prepare for the triathlon, but I had to put in substantially more hours and effort than my regular fitness routine requires. The biggest change for me was training in the evening, rather than in the morning. The evening schedule does not suit me, because by the end of the day, I don’t have as much energy and motivation as when I first wake up, the proverbial “morning person.” But if I wanted to work out with the training group, that was the schedule.

There were times in the last three months that I had to talk to my feet to get them to walk in the direction of the gym and not in the direction of the “L” home. But, invariably, by the time I geared up and met up with my team mates, everything was copacetic and I was totally into the effort of trying to master new drills or beat my last time/distance, whatever.

Sticking with the training schedule and working with a good team of coaches paid off and this weekend I was able to meet my goals in two of the three triathlon events. A new bike is on my budget list. It is not productive to do a road race on a mountain bike, I found out!

Participation in the training and the triathlon this weekend resulted in many benefits for me — spending time with people who are not lawyers and getting to know about their lives and challenges, contributing to a charity, being able to present myself to new people in a different way, not just as “counsel” but as a teammate. Within that group, what you do for a day job isn’t relevant; the support and encouragement of the group was focused positively on everyone’s improvement and was truly inspiring.

Today I feel a sense of accomplishment and of renewed energy, optimism about the future and excitement about new ventures. I feel refreshed and re-energized, thinking about moving forward on my career transition with anticipation.

I am glad I did it, but I am also relieved I can look forward to a few weeks of lighter work outs, ‘til the next intensive training period for a longer triathlon! Yikes!

One response to “Job Search Strategies: trying for balance

  1. Hi! Glad to hear you survived in good spirits and health.

Leave a Reply

