Join a networking group

Tiffany Farber is a solo practitioner who has been practicing law since 2008. As someone who has been through transition in her career, she understands the challenges lawyers in this situation face.

I know I promised that the topics of my next couple blog posts would be centered around starting a law practice, and I promise that those blogs are coming. But, I wanted to take a break to share an idea with all of you attorneys in transition.

Recently, I approached Olivia Clarke, the editor of this fine Law Bulletin, with an idea.  I explained that I love writing this blog because I get to share my experiences and advice with fellow attorneys in transition.  But, what if I could take the blog off the page and into the next dimension?  So, I asked her what she thought about me starting a networking group for attorneys in transition and she was all about it.

Here’s what I propose to all of you attorneys in transition, let’s get together once a month at a neighborhood bar  or coffee shop and swap stories, contacts, job leads and support.  For those of you who read my blog, you know how strongly I feel about the importance of connecting with people.  I am challenging you to come out and meet some other attorneys who know what you are going though and want to hear your story.  The group would be very informal and a minimal time commitment, but I am willing to bet that you will get a lot out of it.

I am part of a networking group for solos that was started by an amazing woman named Dana.  Her group is made up of successful attorneys who are willing to share advice with other solo practitioners.  I have met some awesome people in that group, and I have received some excellent advice.  I have even brought some friends into the mix as well and they are really glad that I invited them.  I look to many people in the group for advice when I’m stumped and they always come through, especially Dana.  Having a group of people that you can count on is worth everything.

Think of a networking group like a pot luck dinner.  Who doesn’t love a pot luck dinner?  You feel great because you have brought something to contribute to the group, and you get to sample what everyone else has to offer as well.  It’s all about sharing and the theme is always the more the merrier.  Think of this group in the same way.  I’m officially inviting you to come and share your stories and advice with your fellow attorneys in transition.  I promise that you won’t be disappointed and, sticking with the pot luck theme, there will be food.

More details regarding location and dates will follow.  In the mean time, if you are interested in joining up, grab your puzzle piece, practice your elevator speech and please e-mail me at tiffany@tiffanyfarber.com.

One response to “Join a networking group

  1. Great thoughts Tiff.

Leave a Reply

